More evidence of serious problems

Source: http://newsgroups.derkeiler.com/Archive/Uk/uk.rec.cars.misc/2008-05/msg00364.html

Vauxhall Zafira diesel engine problems * From: LINGsCARS * Date: Sat, 17 May 2008 09:27:19 -0700 (PDT) Zafira problems – from Ling This is a copy of an email I have sent to 90 Zafira customers of mine (who had new Zafiras on contract hire). Over 30 of them have engine or DPF problems. Hope it helps anyone else in the same position. This is widespread. Apologies in advance for long post, but some people may find it useful – Ling ——- Further update to engine management and diesel particulate filter problems. Currently, I have 30 out of 90 customers experiencing similar problems. It seems to affect the 120bhp 1.9 TDi engine more than any other (but this is the most common engine, so may not be significant). You entitled to a courtesy vehicle if your car has been sitting at the dealer over 24 hrs, and especially if you cannot look at the car until such a late date, or waiting for parts, sometimes these can be months. (the dealer needs to report such a long wait to their customer service manager who will in turn contact the dealers Customer Care District Manager as the dealership should never be this short staffed and parts should not be back order so long!) Don’t let the Vauxhall dealers fob you off with excuses. If there are no courtesy cars at the dealership, then they have to call Vauxhall customer care and speak with their customer service manager who will authorise them to rent a hire car for you from enterprise rent a car or 1car1. If they have no cars (very unlikely as they are daily rental companies) then they have permission to source a car to the value of £27.99 per day (yours is a higher rate as it is a large family car) from elsewhere for you. If after speaking to the Service manager and advising him of this information you get no further help, please contact Vauxhall Customer Care to lodge a formal complaint. If you need to do this it would also be a good idea to ask the dealer principal/ service manager for their dealer code so you can tell the person at Vauxhall Customer Care this so they can advise the dealers Customer Care District Manager of the poor customer service :o) Some useful comments from my customers: ***”I find if you call the garage first then once your problem is logged with them call Vauxhall Customer car and get them to okay the hire car before you take it down. I am now on my third hire car. Apparently Vauxhall have ended the contract with Enterprise and moved to 1car1 as they only use Vauxhalls for hire. Apparently it’s not good to have you problem customers driving different makes of car and enterprise do not have any preference on types of hire cars so may get a ford.”*** ***”Each time I have taken the car in and as long its over a day I have demanded a hire car before committing to release the car to the garage. Alternatively get the AA (Vauxhall assist) to tow the car in and as part of that agreement they organise an immediate temporary loan car for the first day.”*** ***”It seems that if you are doing town miles the filter clogs up. I was told that I should drive at a constant speed for 20 minutes to clear it! Not so easy in the middle of Newcastle. The AA guy who towed me in says he has seen this problem a number of times and that as long as the management light has just come on, they will take the car for a drive and ‘hoof it’ to try and clear the filter.”*** ***”Dec 07 – Service light came on at about 4000 miles (car was approx. 5 months old). Local dealer (Bridport) advised that I needed an oil change (at a cost of about £100.00 !!!!), because the diesel particle filter was clogged and was contaminating the oil and I was not doing enough long journeys ?? Also said this car was not suitable for small/local journeys (I thought it was a family car !!! and despite I had already done 4000 miles, a mixture of local and long distance journeys)!! I disputed/argued this and contacted dealer who supplied vehicle (miles away/Northhamptonshire) and another dealer (next local one/Weymouth – 18 miles away), who both advised that the service light/computer needed resetting to factory settings to eliminate problems. Hence took car to Weymouth ,who ran checks to ensure this was problem then re-set computer/service light (30/01/08).”*** ***”I have replied to your e-mail with my comments on the Zafira but thought I should add that Vauxhall are now going through 1car1 and not Enterprise. My dealer (BristolStreet in Sunderland) have been very good and have now twice supplied me with a Zafira when I asked for a like for like car as a replacement. It seems that if you are doing town miles the filter clogs up. I was told that I should drive at a constant speed for 20 minutes to clear it! Not so easy in the middle of Newcastle. The AA guy who towed me in says he has seen this problem a number of times and that as long as the management light has just come on, they will take the car for a drive and ‘hoof it’ to try and clear he filter.”*** ***”I had the diesel particle light on a couple of times too. Had to take it on the motorway to clear the problem. How ridiculous! having to burn extra fuel to clear the filters!”*** ***”Having previously told you we had no problems suddenly we have had a problem. Our Zafira lost all engine power a couple of days ago so we had to call the AA out. The car was towed away and we are currently waiting to hear from the Vauxhall garage. Reading your advice that you sent through, we did get the filter light on about 2 weeks after we got the car. I read the manual and it said to take it out for a long run which we did and that cured it. We also had the service light come on after 6 months so I took it to the Vauxhall garage and they reset it. I didn’t think anymore about these problems until I got your advice e-mail. It seems that we are now experiencing the exact same problems as your other Zafira customers. Not sure where we go from here – we are going camping the week after next, I hope its fixed by then :O( “*** Several customers have said that they use the Zafira mainly for motorway journeys and do not experience problems. The problems seem to happen when the car is used for short journeys/in town. Fast runs on the motorway seem to cure the problem (temporarily). I really hope this helps people with problems. I am talking to Vauxhall, but they don’t seem to want to admit it is a common problem. Zafiras seem to be the most common car affected, but I had a SAAB with the same engine, and that had the problem. Alfas and Astras and a few other cars like Fiats. You are not alone (if you have problems) but the response from various Vauxhall garages seems totally different. Some are good, some not. You have to be strong with them. Communication by email (in writing) would be good. They will be reluctant to fob you off in writing. I would be interested to see written comments from dealers, but most want to keep it verbal (I am sure so there is not much in writing about this problem).

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

